‘slippery slope’ – the collecting addiction


I have been musing long and hard this week over the strange world of the avid music collector. This has been influenced by a number of factors, not least the rather fabulous experience we had last week, when Steve & Richard announced a ‘flash sale’ of some of the remaining (and hard to come by) JBK stock via their bandcamp page. There was an almighty virtual scrabble as fans desperately tried to grab themselves a signed copy of the ‘medium sampler’, along with ‘seed’ and ‘playing in a room with people’.  Included in the price of the CDs/downloads was the added bonus of the live JBK gig filmed at the Astoria in April 1997, which we have waited a long time to get our hands on, and this created a huge amount of excited conversation on the various Japan/JBK/Jansen/Barbieri facebook pages. It also highlighted, once again, just how avid some people are when it comes to getting every single version of every single release, regardless of whether there are any discernible differences. As someone who is, at best, a half-hearted collector of music memorabilia, I am fascinated by the people who go the whole hog, as it were.

12800135_10153366254321080_8491493252343837151_n
signed copies of ‘medium sampler’, ‘other worlds in a small room’, ‘seed’ and ‘playing in a room with people’ plus freebie postcards (VCC)

My own collecting has been – to use the old football cliche – very much a game of two halves and can be split into two distinct categories; ‘back in the day’  and ‘mid-life crisis’. My former collection was created in the early 80s when, as an obsessed, teenaged Japan fan with a part time job and no overheads, I spent all my spare cash on every new release (7″, 12″, picture disc, Japanese imports etc) and I would buy every magazine (and sometimes multiple copies) which featured any of the band members.

Fortunately, other than chucking away a lot of posters and bootleg cassettes during a house move  and selling a few rarer items when I first became aware of ebay (*sad face*) I kept hold of most of this collection; and I have been adding to it now for the last few years, when I entered the ‘mid-life crisis’ phase of collecting.

I tend to limit my purchases to Jansen/Barbieri related items and some of the more obvious Japan releases, and I am as guilty as the next person when it comes to coveting all those lovely Japanese releases, complete with their sexy obi-strips and added extras. However, seeing some of the photographs of some people’s vast collections puts my feeble attempts to shame, and hearing some of the stories and anecdotes about the lengths folk have gone to secure certain items, is utterly mind-boggling and ofteen highly entertaining.

Obviously, it isn’t just the recorded music which appeals to collectors; there have been sales of items of clothing, instruments and photographs which have roused the latent collector in many of us over the last few years. Recently, Steve offered some test prints for sale on ebay, along with a couple of old cymbals and a drum, all of which went for pretty astonishing prices. When something unique or personalised comes along, then competition is pretty fierce out there and the prices can soon rocket beyond most people’s range. Fortunately though, for those people who don’t have massive amounts of spare cash lying around, but who would still like to invest in something other than the latest download or physical release, there is the prospect of owning one of Steve’s prints to look forward to.

Since starting this blog, I have been amazed by just how many people have taken the plunge and joined the Jansen Print Owners Club™ – we are a select breed but our numbers are growing on a weekly basis! With the publication of ‘through a quiet window’ the number of prints available to purchase suddenly increased 10 fold and with the this has come the rise of ‘serious collector’ – those of us who are not content with just one, or possibly two, of Steve’s iconic shots of his band-mates…..it can become quite addictive let me tell you.

One such person, who has surpassed even the most ardent admirer of Steve’s photography (i.e. me!) is Seymen from Turkey. Some of you will recall that he contributed a piece to the blog last year, when he was the proud owner of a mere 10 of Steve’s prints. Well my friends, let me tell you…since then Seymen has added a further 6 to his collection. Yep, he is now the proud owner of 16 of Steve’s signed, limited edition prints. Blimey. 

IMG_3317
some of Seymen’s prints in situ

I shall leave it to him to explain just why he is such a fan:

I’m starting with one word… “why?”

“Why” I love Mr. Jansen’s photography?

While i was buying my first two prints by the help of dear Joseph from Steve’s team, i can able to answer this simple question: “Cause they are great…” Japan was one of my fave band from the 80s and, “hey”, their drummer is also a brilliant photographer.  What a great chance for me… A  great musician who also take photographs from one of my fave band… Its a perfect chemistry.

So, all started after this simplicity…I was pretty sure i couldn’t stop after my first purchases. Yes, i was right, i just couldn’t…I can find everything what i need when i look the whole details of each Mr. Jansen’s photographs.

I can see colour even it is a black & white frame.  I can see his naive, young passion. I can see humour, I can see tension, I can see anger. 

I can see both Japan’s great days and also I can see Japan’s fading terrible future for their beloved fans… I can see a good band’s splitting…I couldn’t call myself collector… even after, I so far have 16 Jansen prints… I do not know, how can I call myself.

All i can say, I’m doing what i love… Steve Jansen is a great photographer for me. Yes, he is not a big name at photography. But who cares, I love his way of framing, his way of looking around, his way of documenting a band, his band mates. 

Thank you Mr. Jansen… Thanks a lot to you for opening a very special part of your life to us. Thank you indeed.”

And thank you Sey, for sharing your thoughts with us!

MKTriptych TEXT
karn triptych 1981 – Seymen has added these 3 images to his collection recently

Obviously, Seymen isn’t the only person who has a number of Jansen prints adorning the walls of their inner sanctum, and over the coming weeks we will focus our attention on other folk who have been bitten by the collecting bug.

And……to ensure that none of the avid collectors out there feel offended by the title of this piece, there are a couple of photos from my own collection included – you can rest assured that I include myself in the gentle mocking. Always.

11209388_10152798625121080_7041757018200441760_n
A small selection of my magazines, fanzines and photos  (VCC)

 

JBK bandcamp:  https://jbkmusic.bandcamp.com/

Signed, limited edition prints are available to buy direct from Steve: http://www.stevejansen.com/imageshop/

All photographs are © 2016 steve jansen all rights reserved unless otherwise stated.

With thanks to Steve for  permission to use his photographs, Seymen for sharing his thoughts and Shane for his help with the title…….I’m still chuckling.

 

6 thoughts on “‘slippery slope’ – the collecting addiction

  1. It’s a funny one isn’t it? I have over many years kept my eyes open,paid some handsome prices for JBK cd’s. The joy in discovery and the thrill of the hunt etc.
    So you find yourself with a hard earned stash of goodies,then our esteemed artists release these brilliant goodies,just requiring a quick trigger finger and an understanding flexible friend.
    So pleased they did,but that tinge of urrghhh when see your efforts defused, can’t have it both ways.
    Signed too,so does that give more value to the unsigned?
    As for the print collection! Total admiration for Seyman. A true patron of the arts,and such a gifted one too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

